Home > News > Health and Safety for Beginners (HSfB) in the beginning…

Health and Safety for Beginners (HSfB) in the beginning…

I thought some of you may be interested to read about how HSfB started, so here’s the story in a nutshell…

HSfB in the Beginning…

Health and Safety for Beginners (HSfB) in the beginning…

I thought some of you may be interested to read about how HSfB started, so here’s the story in a nutshell…

Read the full article over on the main articles pages here – CLICK ME

After suffering a back injury at work in 2002 where I slipped two discs lifting heavy machinery parts, I spent the next 2 ½ years virtually housebound living on Incapacity Benefit. Naturally this placed incredible strain on home life for my wife and young daughter (two years old at the time), not only in monetary terms, but simple things like going shopping, visiting friends and family, pulling up socks, or even lifting a full kettle. All the things many people take for granted. The hardest part of these years was not being able to lift, carry or play properly with my young daughter who had no concept of why her mum could and I couldn’t. Kids are amazing creatures though; she was OK with the limited physical activities we could do together.

Over time and after being diagnosed with having ‘the back of an old man’, I then realised I could no longer have a career which involved any sort of manual labour; I would need to put my brain to good use to pay the bills! With time on my hands during these years, I began asking questions as to why I was allowed to go to work perfectly healthy one day, then the next day how my work could have been allowed to place such a dark cloud over my life…

Read some more via HSfB in the Beginning….

Read more at www.healthandsafetytips.co.uk

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

